January 21, 2013

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that.  Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.” ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

01201321

 

A holiday, a day off from work.  Out early with the pup, caught the pink of the pre-sunrise sky.  We hiked for perhaps an hour and a half, and I thought about what to do with the rest of the day.  As it is nearly noon, I think I will focus on food: pick up groceries for spaghetti sauce, lentil stew and stuffed squash; fire up the oven for cookies.

As I think about the days to come, I don’t wish them to be lazy holidays (at least, not every day!) but full of accomplishment.  I will get my house in order, which means to start getting rid of stuff and organizing (and enjoying) what remains.  I will give attention to my health, what I eat and what I do.  I will learn some skills, such as lightroom and perhaps html.  I will also figure out what to do for income, because I still want to explore and don’t know how to do it without dollars.  I will nourish my connections with family, friends and community.

“All labor that uplifts humanity has dignity and importance and should be undertaken with painstaking excellence.” ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

Leave a Reply

