January 28, 2013

A tree in January

Today: I took the day off, but let this not be an indication of things to come!  I spent much more time poking around on the computer, not much time at all defining and working toward my goals.  That said, I did get out this morning for the moonset, and this afternoon when I saw some delicious clouds on the horizon.  I had a picture in my head, but the clouds were lower than I had hoped.  Still, I’m rather fond of the results.

If you’re stopping by from Texture Tuesday’s link party — welcome!  This is currently a very humble little blog where I’m keeping myself accountable to post a picture and a few words every day, hoping to get my gears in motion.

For the image above, I barely adjusted the contrast, then copied the background and applied “soft light” at 100%.  There are two layers of Kim Klassen’s “Minus 43;” one at 100% soft light and another at 13% luminosity.  The image is viewed better here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mmvogt/8426076540/in/photostream/lightbox/

I wish to say, Kim Klassen is an example of generosity, creativity and encouragement that I hope to emulate.  If you’re not familiar with her blog and her work, please stop by and browse for a while.  You’ll be glad you did!

http://www.kimklassencafe.com/thecafe/ (I tried to grab a button, but it didn’t work for me this time!)

16 thoughts on “January 28, 2013

  1. Love your photo! I never would have dreamed that a texture would be so beautiful on a landscape. I must try this. And I have to agree with your kind words about Kim.

    • Thanks, Dotti! I love how Kim uses her textures, but my style is typically more outdoorsy. I get a kick out of trying different things just to see what happens.

  2. Beautiful photo, the blue in the sky is so vibrant and I love the clouds!
    I like your goal too – I’m striving to take more photos and blog more this year.
    Kim Klassen is awesome, I’ve learned so much from her classes and from linking up and seeing other peoples work too!

    • Hi Joyelle, thanks for stopping by. Even though I’m trying to shoot with my 50mm each day this month, I switched over to my Sigma 10-20 lens in order to capture as many clouds as possible. This was shot at 14mm.

Leave a Reply

