March 1, 2013 – One

03201301one

A penny for my thoughts? And a reflection. And dust.

 

Happy March!  I can feel the days getting every so slightly longer.  Spring, green spring, is still very far away in my corner of the world, but the generosity of sunlight is good comfort.

My photo challenge for this month is Numbers, which is pretty straight-forward.  They are all over the place in so many forms, that what I’m hoping to do is tell stories with my shots.  I anticipate I will come across a wonderful number on a day that doesn’t match up, so I’m giving myself a bit of leeway, with the constraint that the photo much be shot within this month.  In theory, I could get this all done today, but what would be the fun of that?

So, what is the story of today’s photo?  The story of a fumbled beginning in which I missed swim work-out due to the left-behind locker key.  The story of the unanswered question: “where are all the number One’s downtown?”  The story that small things add up, like pennies and like minutes.  Today, I want to invest my minutes in my home and family, creating a restorative environment* rather than chasing down a photograph.  Also, I have a clinging bad habit of chasing things (the perfect shot, the perfect bathing suit) far and wide instead of being thoughtful with my resources.

Speaking of chasing . . . rather than head home when I figured out I wouldn’t be swimming, I drove around downtown, looking for a nice “1” then gave up and went East for the sunrise. I snapped two images that pleased me, and picked up a real estate brochure for 11 acres for $140k, which has a well and some awesome out-buildings (shed, barn, chapel) which were too far away to photograph.

03201301

A sunrise like ribbon candy

03201301truck

Truck! Mountain! Morning glow!

 

This being the first day of the month, and the end of the first month of my Freedom from Daily Drudgery [which was significantly less productive than I desired], I will make a few lists: menu planner, project planner and, I suppose, a list of lists.  Ha.

I’ll wrap this up with a quote:  “If you say that money is the most important thing, you’ll spend your life completely wasting your time: You’ll be doing things you don’t like doing in order to go on living, that is, in order to go on doing things you don’t like doing — which is stupid! – Allan Watts, Philosopher and author of The Joyous Cosmology (1962)

*”Restorative environment” = cleaning the house

Leave a Reply

