March 5, 2013

03201304stop

Arrggh!

So, the “numbers” theme is really not working for me.  I thought it would be fun and creative, but it is distracting, frustrating, without intention, and does not serve my original purpose, which is to become more familiar and capable with my camera.  Instead, I’ve resorted to drive-by shootings — not a skill I’m looking to develop!

And, I’ve not yet come up with an alternative, so I think I’ll bob along unmoored until I decide on a theme that feels right.  I’ve eliminated selecting one of my lenses (telephoto or wide angle) because I’m waiting for a month that is not so dead and brown.  “Hearts” was fun for me because on days when I did not find a heart, I could create something and try out a technique.  So I’m putting myself on cruise mode for now.

Rio and I got out on this sunny, snowy morning.  Brought my little point and shoot to capture the trail.

03201305leaf 03201305rocks 03201305trees 03201305yucca

Today is the first day of my Round Trip Lightroom class with Kim Klassen, and I procrastinated downloading the software I need.  At this moment, PSE 11 is installing in the background; when that is done I’ll get the trial version of LR4 installed, and then [yay!] begin class.

I am wondering if this old dog can learn the trick of spending time rather than wasting it.

. . . suddenly leaping to a completely different subject, I’ve just finished reading “A Three Dog Life” by Abigail Thomas.  It was sort of sad, somehow comforting, and in a backhand kind of way it encouraged me to (get and) stay fit so I’m not afraid of stairs at the young age of 63.  I wanna be out there on the mountainside even if I’m a slow-poke.  Not cozily settled on the couch.  I want to be like my friend, Karen, who is still out on her bike for hours every week.

Quotation for the day:  “The grand essentials to happiness in this life are something to do, something to love, and something to hope for.” -Joseph Addison, English essayist, poet, playwright

Leave a Reply

